top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnn Maria Jose

The Fireworks

On 4th of July, I went out to watch the independence celebrations. I was sitting on the lawn, excited and eagerly waiting for the fireworks to start. Since I had reached there early to get a good seat, I had plenty of time to kill. I was admiring the clear night sky, lively with twinkling stars and the bright moon. No, I am not going to get all philosophical and talk about the beauty of the nature or the scenic view or the cool breeze. You might be wondering where I am going with this. Well, let me jump past few hours.


After the long wait, the fireworks started and it was awesome. I was enjoying the lights, colors and the coordinated fashion in which it was setup, when something else caught my eye. I could not see the stars or the moon or the tall building which I could see before the fireworks started. Everything was covered in smoke. Dark, black smoke.


It made me wonder if that short-lived moment of happiness was worth all the smoke that was being pushed out into the atmosphere. The fireworks would last for maybe a few minutes, but it has a long lasting impact on everything around it.


Another thought which came to my mind was when I heard the "echo". Every time a sound was made by a cracker, there was an echo of it. It was almost as if the Earth was giving a reply. It reminded me of the quote - "you shall reap what you sow". What if the Earth decided to avenge one day? When will we stop taking Earth for granted?


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hey All

I am Ann and welcome to my blog of random thoughts. One day while I was talking to a friend, she asked my why I never thought of writing...

Comments


bottom of page